Terii’s Cycling Babble


Ringing It In!
January 1, 2014, 6:39 am
Filed under: Misc

More than I tend to do any way. I was actually awake last night when all the hoopla went off rather than being awoken by it. I’m not one to worry over much about the midnight hour. I’m just as happy wishing hubby a new year the next morning with a kiss.

Generally I do my ‘end of year stats’ at… well the end of the year. 2013, I let it slide until now, but here they are.

Miles – 980.68.

That’s the most miles covered in a year since 2008, beating last year’s total by 177 or so miles, in spite of no miles at all in February while taking care of Loke’s amputated toe and very few miles since we returned from our road trip through Europe.

Churches – 24 in Sweden. 4 in Denmark. 2 in Bruges.

I saw more churches, photographed and even showed them in the blog, but unless I saw them with a trike under me, I’m not adding those to the count.

Castles/Manors – 9. One of those 9 was in Copenhagen.

Monuments – 5. Those are pretty much in Copenhagen. Little Mermaid, spectacular fountain, more modest ones…

Ruins – 6.

Denmark Passage Mounds – 5. Three of those I crawled into.

Denmark Dolmen – 1.

Denmark Long Barrow – 1. Definitely lives up to it’s name. Roughly 100 meters/yards long and over 5000 years old.

Runestones – 63. All of those are in Sweden. Pretty good ‘haul’ for those. Of course, I went out on quite a few ‘Runestone Hunt’ rides.

Total Rides – 109.

That’s 13 more rides than last year. Not sure how much distance Loke covered thanks to my Garmin Training Center software deciding to wipe 2012 and 2013. I’m pretty sure he came close to last year’s total, but didn’t tip it.

Most of the rides were on the river loop. 3 were in other countries.

It was an awesome year once I shook off the disappointments of not touring or breaking the 1000 mile mark. It’s a little harder to feel positive about it with so many problems with my fuzzy cycle partner facing retirement from rides over 5 miles.

But in spite of that, here’s to 2014. Let’s see what I can accomplish with it!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

