Terii’s Cycling Babble


Ding! 10,000 Hits!
May 10, 2012, 3:35 am
Filed under: Misc

It finally happened. 105+ posts and 10,000 views. Not bad for something I started just to show my family the country I live in.

Other than that, not really much to post about. I’ve spent the better part of a week with my foot propped up, eating anti-inflammatory meds and staring wistfully out the window at perfect touring weather while tending to Loke’s foot 3 times a day. The wounds on the bottom of his feet have healed, but the discoloration on his fur has gone very intense and dark instead of clearing up. The toenail that had me calling the vet is looking more normal, but the one we were originally worried about doesn’t seem to have improved much at all. Just waiting for the next appointment which will also be surgery for Loke. He has a little growth on the lid of his lower eye needing removal. It’s been removed once, but has made a return appearance.

And to think one of the many reasons we chose a husky (other than the ability to run) was because they’re a very healthy breed with few problems.

My ankle is slowly improving though I had one set back. Apparently, man-handling a heavy cast iron pot around in the sink to clean it was too much for it. My normal sneakers kill me, but I can wear my black Five Fingers and, oddly, my cycle shoes okay as long as I leave the laces loose.

Since the doctor told me to keep weight off my foot, but move, I’ve been cycling on the trainer quite a bit. I did go for an outdoor ride of about 4 miles a couple days after the hospital visit. My husband was home so all I had to do was get dressed and hobble out. No way I can carry the trike myself in this condition. It’s heavier than a cast iron pot… even a large one.

The day was nippy, but it still felt good to get out. The chill got to my ankle, making it ache which is why it was only a 4 miler instead of a 6+. All to be said about that ride.

Oh! Random bit of news that could put an interesting spin on touring. There was a bear attack a bit north of us. When I say a ‘bit’, it’s probably about 100 km (60 miles) from Uppsala or so, but not too far from some streams Jens and I go to fairly frequently to hike and fish. The thing is, it’s in a fairly populated area of Sweden. If it were 500 km north, I wouldn’t have been surprised at all, but we’re talking about an area not too far from home where I could be touring. Pedaling around with food and a dog with bears lurking sounds a bit exciting, doesn’t it? Especially European brown bears which are essentially like the cranky American grizzlies.

I have to admit, I’m much more concerned about bears than about wolves, one of which was running around IN Uppsala just a month or so ago! Pigs and bears and wolves! Oh my!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

