Terii’s Cycling Babble


And It Begins!
January 4, 2012, 11:21 am
Filed under: Day Rides

Thanks to the utter lack of snow, the cycling season has already begun. Loke and I went out for a short ride yesterday. The first time since I started blogging that I’ve gotten out for a ride so early in the new year.

Before blogging, I did try to keep riding through the winter, but after replacing my derailleur and getting stranded because my chain scooped snow and froze solid, I decided it really wasn’t a good idea. Replacing trike parts was especially discouraging when rutted ice smashed the derailleur arm.

This year there are no glistening white fields. The river hasn’t frozen so there’s no joy in watching it thaw over the passing days. Of course, it shouldn’t be thawing at this time of the year, but there it is.

Yesterday was almost 40 F and while not exactly sunny, it wasn’t raining. I wrestled everything out the door with the intention of doing the River Loop with extension. Loke was excited to go out for once. He followed me around, trying to put his head into his harness as I worked the tangles out. He yodeled as I settled in into the trike and waited for the GPS to get signal. Then as we ran, he acted a bit strange. For half the ride, he loped along and stared into my face. I had to grip his harness to keep him on a straight line.  Not sure what that was about.

It began clouding up as we went and even had a brief sprinkle of rain as we crossed the river which is running very high in its banks, but I still made the turn for the extension.

Around mile 2, the ride got cut a short as he abruptly began limping. I’d been treating his paw for the infection again and ran out the medication. It had looked healed, but it seems not. I immediately turned back rather than finishing the extension. After about a mile, he had quit limping, but I went on toward the vet any way. With no wallet, I could only make an appointment IF they were open. Fortunately, a vet tech was in though the vet was not. I made an appointment and Loke will be getting checked today. It felt good to get it done. The clinic has been closed for a couple weeks now for the holidays and my normal vet is still on vacation. Loke will be getting examined by the substitute vet.

The last half mile, he was limping again, but it was an easy coast home by then, finishing up at 4.52 miles. I wrestled the trike in and then toweled off the mud-ball that my husky had turned into. Except for the limping not a bad start to a new year!

No pictures, sorry. Everything is just muddy, murky brown which means the River Loop was even less impressive than usual. Just watch. In March, we’ll get like 3 feet of snow that won’t melt until May. 😛

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

