Terii’s Cycling Babble


SnowBound
November 29, 2010, 5:05 pm
Filed under: Misc

Yep.  It’s happened.  Above is how the view of our ‘yard’ looked in May.

This past Saturday?  This is what we had.  One of my frequent readers commented there’s a bitter winter forecasted and it seems it’s come upon us a bit early.  We haven’t had this much snow at this time of the year in quite a while.  Last year we didn’t even get our first snow fall until almost Christmas!  November 11th was our first ‘real’ snow fall.  Almost 2 feet which vanished over a couple days.  Quite impressive!  We’ve had lows around -15 c (5 F for us non-metric types).  Brr.

Obviously, my cycling has been in front of a TV.  With the sheer amount of snow and cold, I’m going to guess my cycling season is over.  In many ways, it has been a disappointment.  I had such hopes and plans for it which mostly involved lots of cycle touring particularly during the month of the World Cup.  I never had a chance for even one cycle tour.  It was also one of my shortest years in terms of distance.  I think I even covered more distance my first year with the trike.  A measly 335 miles.

In a few ways, it was something of a success though.  The sheer number of runestones, castles and churches are a new record!  Most of what I cycled was new territory.

Churches – 31

Rune Stones, Grave Mounds/Fields, Carvings – 34

Castles/Manors – 10

Those are definitely new records for a year’s pedaling!  The places I covered were beautiful and interesting.  I especially loved the trip up north.  So, at least it wasn’t all bad!

I’ve noticed a few hits to my blog from searches for the Sverigeleden.  So, for those who are non-Swedish speakers, I found this –  http://www.svenska-cykelsallskapet.se/images/sveledeng.pdf

I loved how it had the totals for the distance.  The entirety  of the Sverigeleden covers some 11,000 km or a bit over 6,800 miles.  That sort of puts my ambition to cycle even most of it into a boggling perspective.  I still like the idea though!  Knowing me, I’ll add to it because I’ll look at a map and say, “Oooh!  A church just 5 miles off the route!” or “A castle!! Must see it!!”  I’ll be zig-zagging all over the place.

Random non-cycling information.  Uppsala was featured in a documentary called, “Clash of the Gods”.  It’s an interesting series where they touch on all sorts of myth and legends.  Everything from Greek and Roman, right down to Lord of the Rings.  I caught an episode today about Thor.  Uppsala was mentioned as they were talking about the conflict between a Swedish king who was determined to force his country into Christianity.  Uppsala was the sight of one of the largest pagan temples.  That much I already knew as well as the sacrifices, both human and animal, which were hung in the sacred grove now long gone.  What made me smile the most was when they actually showed the church and the mounds.  Places I walk and ride over so much year after year on a non-Swedish documentary which is shown internationally.  I think the only thing that would have made me grin more was if I’d caught a documentary about the tiny little ‘Spanish Fort’ I used to enjoy spending time at as a child in Pascagoula, MS.

Spanish Fort was not really a fort, but supposedly one of the oldest standing residential building in the state of Mississippi.  Old brick and ancient timbers of a tiny 3 room house.  I used to love going there as a child.  Walking around the silent rooms with their thick, plastered walls.  Back then, it was free and anyone could come and go on the grounds at will.  The last time I went in my late 20’s, it was disappointing.  They had to do massive work on the building and it felt like there was little left of it.  All reinforced with little glimpses at the old walls and floors through plexiglass.  It was a bittersweet thing to see.  So little left of what I loved from the long summer days there.  Stretching out under the shade of an old pecan tree to eat my picnic lunch after fishing and crabbing in the nearby bayou all morning.  Ah, the golden days of childhood.

So, that’s my ‘year-end’ blog.  I guess it’s now time to hit the trainer hard and make plans for when the snows give way again sometime in March or April.  Hopefully next year will see me touring.  I’m crossing my fingers.  Even my toes for more luck!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’ll look forward to your posts in the new year. Happy Xmas to you and yours and especially Loke :0)

Comment by dexey

Thanks, dexey! Merry Christmas and a wonderful New Year to you as well!

And Loke’s already having a nice beginning to the holiday season. My husband has embraced Thanksgiving so we had his family over for the traditional (or very close to it) feast. The furry one has been getting VERY spoiled with turkey leftovers. Soon, it will be Christmas ham!! He’ll be waddling by the time we’re ready to start touring again. 😛

Comment by terii

You may need to buy him a trailer!

Comment by dexey

I just might at that. 😛

BTW, I think the winter really slammed into us. Woke up to -20 c this morning. That’s -4 F for the non-metric types. I was definitely glad it wasn’t a day for me to go to the gym. Brrr

Comment by terii

It’s caught us here in England, too. Cold and slippery in the West Midlands :0)

Comment by dexey




Leave a Reply

