Terii’s Cycling Babble


The Leaves They Are A Changin’
August 29, 2009, 11:28 am
Filed under: Day Rides

Yep.  It’s true.  Autumn is rushing upon me here in Sweden.  Wednesday while walking the dog before I had to rush off to an appointment, I noticed clusters of leaves here and there in some of the trees that stood out brightly against the green of summer.

T0day, I finally had a bit of time to get out and cycle in the first time in what feels like forever.  Just a couple of hours before in-laws come over for dinner, so I kept it just my short Ulva Loop.  Just in the two days since I first noticed leaves changing, the numbers have tripled.  Pity I didn’t have my camera with me to mark the beginning of fall.

Loke was thrilled to death to get out and run again.  He and I both have suffered quite a bit as far as our stamina goes.  I can’t say I’m surprised on my part of it, though I’m surprised Loke’s stamina dropped so much.

There was one little moment that again had me kicking myself for forgetting my camera.  I was cycling along and much to my surprise, I found a small snake sitting in the middle of the road.  Traffic was coming, so I stopped not to far from it so the cars would go around it instead of squishing it.  Sweden has two species of snakes and one of them is poisonous.  This little guy looked a lot like a garter snake in the states, which isn’t venomous, but I wasn’t sure if this was the non poisonous one or not.  So, I settled for shooing it into the grass by waving my feet at it.  Loke was remarkably oblivious.  As I was gently chasing the little critter along, he was looking around at everything except for the slithering shape on the road.  Only as it slipped into the grass did he FINALLY see it and tried to pounce.  I’m not sure it did any good.  If the snake was trying to sun himself since it was a cool day, he probably went right back out a few minutes after I left.  Still, I tried.

This trip was also the first time I got to use my new low gears on familar ground.  It gave me a good idea of how much they really do help.  Other than that it was just a standard short loop on a windy party sunny day.  I think it went a long way to refuel my motivation though.  Hopefully I can get at least ONE successful tour in before snow and ice shut me in for the rest of the year.

Sorry.  No pictures to share.  I made sure I packed my camera into my trike bags as soon as I got home, so hopefully I’ll find something worth taking pictures of next trip!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

