Terii’s Cycling Babble


Hello world!
April 23, 2009, 6:58 am
Filed under: Misc

Well, here I am finally jumping into the popular world of blogging.  This place is mostly for friends and family who are curious about my adopted country or interested in the things I see and experience as I wade deeper into one of my bigger passions of cycling.

This year, I am training both myself and my 4 year old husky, Loke, to start exploring more of Sweden from the perspective of my recumbent trike.  I’m hoping this year to start going on short overnight trips with the trike and dog, eventually lengthening them into trips of a week or longer.  There is a huge cycle path that criss-crosses most of southern and central Sweden along with a single leg winding up into the northern most town in the country up near the border of Finland.  I forget the total combined length of the Sverigeleden (Sweden Path/Trail), but I’m certain it covers more than 1500 miles and I would love to cover most of it though not all in one go.  There is also a small passport type booklet that one can get stamped at certain places scattered around Sweden.  25 locations if I remember correctly and completing certain sections (or all of them) will apparently get you a certificate of some sort.  I’m still researching that.

For a while yet, any posts I make will be about things I find as I explore the area directly around Uppsala, Sweden.  Most of the pictures will be of the small country churches I come upon and use as landmarks along with rune stones.  Many of the churches I’ve found so far date from 1100 AD to 1300 AD.  Sweden is also scattered with ruins of mainly churches and quite a few cultural heritage sites that comprise of old farm buildings.  Throw in a few manor houses and castles from 1400 to 1800 and some lovely scenery, it’s enough to keep my interest and keep me trying to work my way further and further out from Uppsala.

The photo in my blog header is a quick shot I took of my trike and Loke when we stopped for a rest at a nice little nature reserve around a small pond surrounded by huge mossy rocks and large old trees.  It’s a beautiful place at all times of the year with a large population of various geese and ducks during the migratory season.  My trike is a Trice QNT ’06 model that I purchased directly from the manufacturers in Falmouth, England in the Cornwall area.  It was a birthday gift from both my father and husband since I’d been unable to ride a normal upright bike for quite a few years thanks to a bad back.  It’s served me well and I’ve covered quite a few miles on it and I’m still just as thrilled with it as when I first sat on the model in Cornwall to take a test ride courtesy of the guys at Inspired Cycle Engineering.  For touring, I’ll be adding a little Burley cargo trailer as well for the camping and dog gear I’ll be lugging along with me.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi, this is a comment.
To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Comment by Mr WordPress

Hi, Terii!

Great to see you here. I’m ‘tbarron’ from the recumbent riders’ forum.

The Swedish bike path sounds like a lot of fun.

Looking forward to seeing more about your rides as you post…

Tom

Comment by Tom Barron




Leave a Reply

